Certified LabVIEW Architect (CLA)

  • Highest level of LabVIEW certification
  • Demonstrates mastery in architecting and project managing LabVIEW applications
  • Valid for 4 years from date taken; recertification required to maintain credentials
  • Benefits include use of professional certification badge logo and digital badge
  • Exclusive events including the annual CLA Summit

The Certified LabVIEW Architect is the final step in the three-part LabVIEW certification process. The exam for this step presents a set of high-level requirements and tests the user’s ability to build a sensible VI hierarchy and project plan for delivering an application that fulfills those requirements. You can use this certification to assess and validate an individual’s LabVIEW development and project management skills for the purpose of project staffing or career advancement. For example, having Certified Architects on staff to provide technical leadership and guidance ensures that less experienced developers are following best practices that will make them more competent and efficient developers. In addition, Certified Architects can design the application architecture and manage the development of the individual components by other engineers.

All NI Alliance Partners at the Certified Partner level and above maintain at least one Certified Developer or Architect on staff, so clients can be sure they are getting the best possible results.

NI offers the Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer (CLAD) exam for both LabVIEW and LabVIEW NXG at this time.

Expect to see our LabVIEW NXG certification offering expand with future releases of this next-generation software.

Recommended Experience Level
-24 months or more developing medium to large applications in LabVIEW
- Managing Software Engineering in LabVIEW and Advanced Architectures for LabVIEW training courses with 12 or more months of LabVIEW development experience

Certification Exam Details
-Prerequisite: Certified LabVIEW Developer status
-Format: VI and application architecture development
-Duration: 4 hours
-Location: NI branch office, training center, online, or on-site at your location

Recertification Process
Certified Professionals can recertify by two methods: recertification by exam or recertification by points.
Recertification interval: 4 years

Recertification by Exam
-Format: Multiple choice
-Duration: 1 hour
-Location: Pearson VUE testing centers or NI branch offices

Recertification by Points
By participating and completing approved activities, Certified Professionals can earn and accumulate points redeemable toward recertification.